Sade, Teddy Riley, And More Inducted to 2023 Songwriters Hall Of Fame

Loading the player…

A few of our favorite legends are getting their credit. The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their 2023 inductees. You might find a few familiar names in that list.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced its 2023 inductees Wednesday. Names include Sade Adu, Teddy Riley, and Snoop Dogg. Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne, and Taylor Swift as well as Liz Rose round out the class.

This year’s inductees all have hit songs that have been marked down in history. Some of these well-known songs include You Belong To Me, Smooth Operator, Rhythm Is Gonna Get You, Drop It Like It’s Hot, along with My Prerogative.

“The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch . . . nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter,” SHOF Chairman and legendary musician Nile Rodgers said in a statement. “We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

Songwriter’s Hall of Fame Past

Interestingly enough, Snoop Dogg will be the 5th hip-hop act or artist inducted. Jay-Z, Jermaine Dupri, Missy Elliott, Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo were also honored in the past.

The SHOF returned in 2022 after a three-year hiatus. The break was due to the nationwide precautions of COVID-19. Last year’s inductees included Mariah Carey, the Isley Brothers, The Neptunes, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart, Rick Nowels, and William “Mickey” Stevenson.

SOHF’s 52nd Annual Induction and Awards Gala is slated for Thursday, June 15th. The Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City will host the event.