Samuel L. Jackson To Receive The Chairman’s Award At The NAACP Awards

Congratulations to Samuel L. Jackson. The legendary actor has been named as the recipient of the Chairman’s award at this year’s NAACP Image Awards. 

Jackson will receive this award for his demonstration in public service and using his platform to create new ways of change.  Other people who have received this award include Danny Glover, Tyler Perry, Barack Obama, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, former Surgeon General Regina Benjamin, the late Congressman John Lewis, and Ruby Dee. 

Leon W. Russell, NAACP National Board of Directors spoke on Jackson being this year’s recipient. “Samuel L. Jackson is an incredibly talented actor with a remarkable career in film and theater spanning over four decades.” 

He continued, “Many might not know that prior to his acting career, Jackson was a staunch activist during the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s, even serving as an usher at Martin Luther King Jr.’s funeral. His continued public service and advocacy for social change make him an excellent recipient for the Chairman’s Award.” 

Throughout his career, Jackson has appeared in over 100 films and is considered one of the most respected actors of all time. Congratulations again to Samuel L. Jackson.