Samara Joy Releases ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’ Ahead of Holiday Album

Samara Joy
STUTTGART, GERMANY – JULY 22: Samara Joy performs at the Jazzopen 2023 at Altes Schloss on July 22, 2023 in Stuttgart, Germany. (Photo by Thomas Niedermueller/Getty Images for Mastercard)

Samara Joy wants to bring joy to your Christmas this year.

The Bronx native will end the year with her first Christmas release, the EP A Joyful Holiday. Before the two-time GRAMMY Award winner drops her seasonal project later this month, she gifted her fans with a cover of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.”

Joy gives a jazzy rendition to the timeless holiday classic. While the song has been sung by countless vocalists from Ella Fitzgerald to Kelly Clarkson, Joy’s tone and texture makes for warm & fuzzy rendition.

The six-song EP will feature Joy’s take on Steve Wonder’s “Twinkle Twinkle Little Me,” Warm In December,” “O Holy Night” and studio and live recordings of “The Christmas Song.”

Outside of her holiday EP, Joy has been having a memorable year. The 23 year-old took home two Grammy Awards as Best New Artist and Best Jazz Vocal Album awards & her sophomore album reached No 1 on the Jazz Album charts.

Joy will embark on her A Joyful Holiday Tour for the rest of the year, with stops in Athens, Berlin, Paris, London, and more. Her McLendon family will join her on the tour starting December 1 in Houston, and then in Nashville, Atlanta, Philadelphia, and two hometown shows at the Apollo Theater in New York City. 

Samara Joy A Joyful Holiday tracklist:

1. Warm In December
2. Twinkle Twinkle Little Me feat. Sullivan Fortner
3. The Christmas Song
4. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
5. O Holy Night feat. The McLendon Family
6. The Christmas Song (Live) feat. Antonio McLendon

Pre-order A Joyful Holidaywhich is released on October 27.