Victoria Monét, Usher, Fantasia, Colman Domingo, Among 2024 NAACP Image Award Nominees

The NAACP Image Awards are back for its 55th year!

On Thursday (Jan 25), nominations were revealed  with films “American Fiction,” “Origin,” “Rustin,” “The Color Purple” and “They Cloned Tyrone” nominated in the top category of Outstanding Motion Picture.

Usher, Fantasia Barrino, Colman Domingo, ‘The Color Purple’, Victoria Monét, Ayo Edebiri, and ‘Rustin’ are among the names nominated multiple times across the category tally – which includes music, film, and TV nominees.

“The Color Purple” received the most nominations in film categories, a total of 16, with six of those in the acting categories, including Barrino for Outstanding Actress, Danielle Brooks, Halle Bailey, and Taraji P. Henson for Supporting Actress and Domingo and Corey Hawkins for Supporting Actor.

Barrino, Domingo and Bailey were also both nominated for Entertainer of the Year, along with Keke Palmer, Halle Bailey and Usher. Last year’s winner in the category was Angela Bassett.

In the television categories, “Abbott Elementary” led with 9 nominations. Emmy winner Ayo Edebiri scored two for her performances both in “Abbott Elementary” and “The Bear.”

Victoria Monét and Usher received the most nominations in the music recording categories. Monét earned six and Usher five.

“We are thrilled to celebrate the achievements of this year’s nominees, whose outstanding contributions across film, television and streaming, music, literature, podcasts, and more have inspired us all,” said NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson. “The NAACP Image Awards stand as a tribute to their creativity, talent, and dedication to authentic storytelling and are a testament to the richness and diversity of our community.”

The winners will be revealed during the live awards ceremony, airing Saturday, March 16, 2024 at 8:00 PM ET/ 5 PM PT on BET and CBS.

Voting for the awards is now open at the Image Awards website. The public can vote to determine the winners in select categories until February 24 at 9:00 p.m. Winners will be revealed during the telecast.

NAACP will also recognize winners in non–televised Image Awards categories March 11–14th, which will stream on the Image Awards site.